Home Sports The All Blacks will play 14 Tests this year

The All Blacks will play 14 Tests this year


The All Blacks are set to play five Tests at home as well as an additional Bledisloe Cup Test in this year’s Rugby Championship.

The schedule for the 2021 Rugby Championship was recently unveiled with the full roster of teams including South Africa. Most of the Rugby Championship matches will be played in Australia and New Zealand, with both countries hosting five matches each and South Africa having two matches.

The All Blacks play the inaugural Bledisloe Cup Test ahead of the start of the Rugby Championship at Eden Park in Auckland on Saturday 7 August.

The second Bledisloe Test is on Saturday 21 August at Optus Stadium, Perth. The third will take place on Saturday 28 August at Sky Stadium, Wellington.

Busy September for All Blacks

There will be four consecutive Tests for the All Blacks in September, with back-to-back Tests against Argentina on Saturday 11 September and at Sky Stadium, Wellington on Saturday 18 September. The latter is a “home” game for Puma.

The first back-to-back Test against South Africa at the Forsythe Bar Stadium in Dunedin on Saturday 25 September will be the 100th Test match between two famous foes. The 100th anniversary game between the two sides will be played in the same city where the first Test took place. It was played on 13 August 1921 at Carisbrook with the All Blacks winning 13–5.

The All Blacks’ final Rugby Championship Test against South Africa will take place at Eden Park on Saturday 2 October. This is a “home game” for the Springboks.

The All Blacks would play three Tests in the previous Steinlager Series, one against Tonga and two against Fiji. They will also play four Tests on their Northern Hemisphere tour later this year against Wales, Italy, Ireland and France. The All Blacks will play a total of 14 Tests this year, their busiest year since 2017, when they played 14 Tests and two non-Test matches.

LiveScores is now available at IrishScore.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here