By the numbers: 17 Years of the World Series of Poker (WSOP) in Rio

Author: | Posted in Sports No comments


The poker world has reached the end of an era with World Series of Poker (WSOP) ends his last bracelet event on Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino.

Next summer, the series will walk down the road to the Las Vegas Strip, the first time the WSOP will take place anywhere other than Rio since 2004, when it was held in the center of Binion.

June 3, 2005 Anthony Nguyen sent the $ 500 Casino Employees No-Limit Hold’em Tournament, the first bracelet ever won in Rio, owned at the time by Harrah’s Entertainment, which later came into being Caesar’s entertainment. Allen Cunningham was the first player to win an open bracelet event at the near-Strip property, after winning a $ 1,500 NLH tournament two days after Nguyen’s victory.

The last bracelet won in Rio, out of 1,030 in total awarded, took place on Tuesday, with Boris Kolev Winning Event # 88: $ 5,000 8-Handed No-Limit Hold’em, exactly 6,019 days since the off-Strip casino first opened its doors to the World Series of Poker.

Between the first champion and the last winner, there have been more memorable moments than we can count. But we found some interesting statistics about the WSOP during the Rio era, starting with GOAT from the WSOP, Phil Hellmuth, which is not surprisingly the only player to win more than five bracelets at the Caesars-owned resort.

Hellmuth, who won her 16th bracelet last month in Event # 31: $ 1,500 No-Limit 2-7 Lowball Draw, collected six shiny gold bracelets at Rio. Four others won five and they are listed as follows:

Player Rio bracelet Last Rio bracelet
Phil Hellmuth 6 2021
Shaun Deeb 5 2021
Brian Rast 5 2021
Brian Hastings 5 2021
Jason mercier 5 2016

Legends create history at Rio

Doyle Brunson

Doyle Brunson and Johnny Chan‘s greatest achievements were behind them when the WSOP left Binions after the 2004 series. But they each wrote history on the megaresort.

During the first month the series took place in Rio in 2005, Chan became the first player ever to reach 10 wristbands when he posted a $ 2,500 pot-limit hold’em tournament. Four days later, Brunson reached the double-digit bracelet plateau by taking down a $ 5,000 no-limit hold’em event. Neither player has since won a WSOP title, though they both still compete in the occasional wristband event.

Hellmuth would catch up the following summer in a $ 1,000 no-limit hold’em tournament and then win his 11th in 2007, a record no one else has achieved since. Phil Ivey is the only other player to win 10 bracelets, but only four took place in Rio. That Poker Hall of Famer won his 10th in 2014 when he won a $ 1,500 8-game mix tournament.

Negreanus mixed bag of results

Daniel Negreanu

There are two ways to analyze Daniel Negreanu‘s performance at bracelet events in Rio. The first is for those who view championships as the measure of a player’s success. And the other looks at the overall work (titles, final table appearances, cash, awards, etc.).

Since 2008, Negreanu has not won a single bracelet at Rio, even though he won two overseas in 2013. But he has reached 26 final tables – two in the last few days – at the Las Vegas casino during that time, which is impressive in itself. The GGPoker ambassador won his lone bracelet at Rio in 2008 and has since gone 0-7 reaches heads-up for a bracelet.

Daniel Negreanu’s most insane WSOP statistics in Rio

Master of the Min-Cash

Roland Israelashvili

Roland Israelashvili has produced one of the most exciting poker careers ever. With 304 money in the WSOP and WSOP Circuit events, he holds the record through all time, but he has never won a bracelet, even though he has eight circuits.

At Rio, Israelashvili won 131 money, more than anyone else in history. But he did so without winning a bracelet, never reaching heads-up after a bracelet and reaching only three final tables. He’s the perfect min-caser, maybe even more than that Allen Kessler.

Main Event Champions and winning bracelets

Chippy WSOP Mascot with 2017 Main Event winner Scott Blumstein

Winning poker’s most prestigious annual event does not necessarily mean you are a great player. Since 2005, the WSOP has crowned 17 different world champions, and only four of these winners have multiple bracelets – Joe Cada (4), Joe McKeehen (3), Jonathan duhamel (3), and Greg Merson (2).

In total, the WSOP champions of the Rio era have won only eight bracelets outside of the Main Event. If we go even further back, there are none of the champions from 2002-2004 – Robert Varkonyi, Chris Moneymaker, or Greg Raymer – has won another bracelet. Times have certainly changed since the 1990s and earlier, when Main Event champs were often multiple time bracelet winners.

Add Your Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *