Daylight Saving Time Ends Soon. When to Turn Back Your Clocks – NBC Chicago

Author: | Posted in USA No comments

Time flies when the days get shorter. Daylight Saving Time 2021 ends in less than two weeks.

Here’s what you need to know about daylight saving time, when to turn your clocks back, and what we know about summer time coming.

When Does Daylight Saving Time End?

According to applicable federal law, daylight saving time begins on the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday in November.

This year, the first Sunday in November falls on November 7, giving Illinois residents an extra hour of sleep. Daylight saving time will start on March 13 in 2022.

Is Daylight Saving Time Permanently Observable in Illinois?

The question of whether to set the clocks permanently forward or permanently back has been an ongoing conversation since Congress codified daylight saving time in the 1960s, and Illinois has seen pressures on both sides of the spectrum to keep residents in a given year. -round.

According to Peoria Journal-StarAt least four state representatives, including Democratic Representatives Bob Morgan and Michael Zalewski, and Republican Representatives Adam Niemberg and Thomas Morrison, introduced bills last year to make daylight saving time permanent in the state.

There is just one thing to watch out for.

Under federal law, states must obtain Congressional approval to adopt year-round daylight saving time. According to The Old Farmer’s AlmanacAt least 15 states, including Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Maine, Oregon, Tennessee, and Washington, have approved the bills to move forward permanently, but no federal approval has been given to permanently move their clocks forward one hour.

At the federal level, bills were proposed to permanently set the clocks forward one hour across the country, but none passed through both chambers of Congress.

Can Daylight Saving Time Be Ended Permanently?

If a state were to choose to observe standard time throughout the year, it would not be subject to Congressional approval.

Currently, two states observe standard time throughout the year, with Hawaii and Arizona both opting to do so shortly after Congress passed bills to adjust daylight saving time in the 1960s.

Indiana never observed statewide daylight saving time before, but changed its law in 2006.

In Illinois, Republican Representatives Tim Butler and Bob Welter proposed a law that would allow Illinois to follow standard time throughout the year, but the bills were not voted on in the legislature.


Add Your Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *