Home Uncategorized Nominees for College Football Hall of Fame Include Reggie Bush, Andrew Luck,...

Nominees for College Football Hall of Fame Include Reggie Bush, Andrew Luck, Marshawn Lynch


Reggie Bush, Andrew Luck and Marshawn Lynch highlight the latest nominees for the College Football Hall of Fame, it was announced Wednesday.

The group consists of 78 players and seven coaches from the Football Bowl subdivision and 99 players and 33 coaches of divisional rank.

The ballot was emailed Wednesday to more than 12,000 National Football Foundation members and current Hall of Famers, whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF’s Honors Court, which will consider and select the class.

Inductors for the class will be announced in early 2022.

Bush led USC Won the Heisman Trophy as a junior in 2005, for two national championships. However, he returned the award after an investigation in 2010, when he was a student-athlete, he and his family members accepted cash, travel expenses and a house. in the San Diego area where Bush’s parents lived without rent for more than a year and for which they were provided $10,000.

USC distanced itself from Bush for 10 years and first removed him from its record books welcoming them again in 2020. The renewed union allowed Bush to eventually be nominated for the Hall of Fame; Otherwise he could have appeared on the ballot in 2017.

“It was good enough for us,” NFF President and CEO Steve Hachel said of Bush’s return to good terms with USC.

had luck stanfordCareer leader in touchdown passes (82) and passing efficiency (162.8), owning two of the top four passing seasons in school history. The two-time Heisman Trophy runner-up was a first-team All-America selection in 2011, winning the Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Player of the Year honors.

Lynch, who played on the opponent calories, had a school-record 17 100-yard rushing games and led the Golden Bears to part of the Pac-10 title in 2006, when he was named offensive player of the conference after leading the league (1,356 yards), All-purpose yards (1,785) and touchdowns (15).

Other notable names on the first-time FBS players listed on the ballot include Sean Alexander, LaVar Arrington, Eric Berry, Michael Crabtree, Sylvester Krum, Warrick Dunn, Toby Gerhart, Graham Harrell, Jeremy Macklin, Kellen Moore, Paul Pausluzny and Peter Warrick.

Champ Bailey, Marvin Harrison, Tony Gonzalez, Julius Peppers and Ration Salaam are among the holdovers from ballots in other years.

Among the coaches, Larry Coker, who guided Miami to the most recent national championship in 2001, appeared on the ballot for the first time.

Players are eligible if they have dropped 10 full seasons from their final year of college football and have received first-team All-America honors by an organization recognized by the NCAA.

Coaches are eligible for three full seasons after retirement or if they are at least 70 years old immediately after retirement. A coach must also be head coach for at least 10 years and have trained at least 100 games with a win percentage of 600 or more.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed within this article are the personal opinions of the author. The facts and opinions appearing in the article do not reflect the views of knews.uk and knews.uk does not assume any responsibility or liability for the same.

For latest entertainment news| health news| political news| sports news| travel news| Covid-19 news| Tech news| Digital Marketing| Lyrics


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.