Home Uncategorized The SEC Medical Guidance Task Force, Michael L. received the live...

The SEC Medical Guidance Task Force, Michael L. received the live award


14 hours ago
SEC Staff

Photo: Southeast Conference

Birmingham, Ala. (June 2, 2021) — Member of the Southeastern Conference Activity and Medical Guidance Task Force, a group of volunteer medical professionals appointed by each of the SEC’s member universities, who helped provide continued guidance during intercollegiate athletics competition by the SEC. The 2020-21 academic year, to Michael L. Slive has been named as the recipient of the Distinguished Service Award, SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey announced Wednesday.

“Individually and collectively, serving leaders on the conference’s Medical Guidance Task Force deserve this recognition,” Sankey said. “Each contributed an incredible amount of time and effort to lend their expertise as we worked to address the many challenges associated with developing policies and protocols that support a healthy return to competition throughout the COVID-19 pandemic Because of their efforts, thousands of SEC student-athletes are able to participate in their chosen sports, compete for championships, and create lifelong memories with their peers that otherwise would never have been possible without the contributions of these talented individuals. is.

Following the cancellation of the SEC Men’s Basketball Tournament in March 2020, the SEC Office began monitoring and learning about COVID-19 and related public health information, so the task force was formed in early April 2020 with the aim of providing necessary guidance . To make decisions related to the return to athletics activities for SEC student-athletes and to assist the SEC in cooperation with partner conferences in supporting the safe and healthy conduct of athletics competition.

Members of the SEC’s Return to Activity and Medical Guidance Task Force are:

Dr. Jimmy Robinson, University of Alabama, Head Team Physician and Medical Director Dr. Kent Hagen, University of Arkansas, Sports Medicine/Team Physician and Dr. Ramon Ylanen, Sports Medicine/Team Physician Dr. Mike Goodlett, Auburn University, Chief Medical Officer/Team Physician Dr. Jay Clugston, University of Florida, team physician Ron Courson, University of Georgia, executive associate athletics director/sports medicine Jim Maddaleno, University of Kentucky, executive associate athletics director/sports medicine and performance Dr. Katherine O’Neill, LSU Health Sciences Center assistant professor of medicine Dr. Marshall Crowther, University of Mississippi, Medical Director/Sports Medicine Physician Dr. Cliff Storey, Mississippi State University, Director of University Health Services Dr. Steven Whit, University of Missouri, Associate Professor of Medicine, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine and Infectious Diseases department; Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, University of Missouri School of Medicine, Chief Clinical Officer Dr. Zoe Foster, University of South Carolina, Program Director, Primary Care Sports Medicine Fellowship Dr. Chris Klenk, University of Tennessee, Head Team Physician Dr. Sean Gibbs, Texas Dr. Warne Fitch, Dean of A&M University, School of Public Health, Vanderbilt University, Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine, Associate Professor of Orthopedics

Michael L. The Slive Distinguished Service Award is presented on special occasions to alumni—athletes, coaches, graduates, or administrators of SEC institutions or conference offices—who have maintained a lifelong interest in college athletics and who, over a significant period, have demonstrated superior leadership qualities. have demonstrated and made a significant impact for the betterment of the mission of the Southeastern Conference.

“These health professionals collectively and uniquely embody the spirit of this special award,” Sankey said. “The expertise, experience, and knowledge they provide continues to support our institutions in focusing on the health and well-being of SEC student-athletes during a year of uncertainty. We deserve them the Michael L. Slive Distinguished Service Award Proud to be honored.”

The task force began meeting by videoconference in April of 2020 to review and discuss information related to the COVID-19 pandemic. The task force also identified protocols related to on-campus meetings and workouts, out-of-season activities and skills instruction, and other exercise activities for student-athletes and coaches, and opportunities for a healthy return to competition, in which student-athletes Contains ideas for. , administrators, support staff, executives and fans.

Michael L. The Slive Distinguished Service Award is named after Mike Slive, the SEC’s commissioner from 2002–14. Upon his retirement in 2014, Slive was named the first winner of the award and the award was later named in his honour.

Michael L. Live Distinguished Service Award Winners:

year winner

2014 Michael L. Slive – SEC Commissioner

2017 SEC Pioneers of Integration (Nate Northington, Wilbur Hackett, Houston Hoggs, Greg Page – Kentucky Football; Perry Wallace and Godfrey Dillard – Vanderbilt Basketball)

2018 Archie Manning – Ole Miss Football/Baseball

2021 SEC activity and return to medical guidance task force

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed within this article are the personal opinions of the author. The facts and opinions appearing in the article do not reflect the views of knews.uk and knews.uk does not assume any responsibility or liability for the same.

For latest entertainment news| health news| political news| sports news| travel news| Covid-19 news| Tech news| Digital Marketing| Lyrics


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.