Venues locked to the World Cup defense in Australia

Author: | Posted in Sports No comments

Australia’s men’s T20 World Cup title will be at stake again in less than a year, with the International Cricket Council today confirming the details of next year’s tournament in Australia.

The 2022 T20 World Cup will feature a total of 45 matches in less than a month, to be played at Adelaide Oval, Gabba, Kardinia Park in Geelong, Bellerive Oval in Hobart, Perth Stadium, MCG and SCG.

The semi-finals will be played on 9 and 10 November at SCG and Adelaide Oval before the final at MCG on Sunday 13 November.

The tournament, which was originally scheduled to take place in Australia in 2020 but was postponed due to the pandemic, starts on October 16 next year, meaning Australians only have 11 months to celebrate being world champions before defending their title.

Australia, who won the 2021 event on Monday morning AEDT, have automatically qualified for the Super 12 stage in next year’s event along with second place, New Zealand. The next six highest-ranked teams in the world – England, India, Pakistan, South Africa, Afghanistan and Bangladesh – have also been given a free pass to the second round of the 2022 tournament.

The four remaining teams from the Super 12s at this year’s competition – Sri Lanka (Champions in 2014), Caribbean (Champions in 2012 and 2016), Scotland and Namibia – will take part in the first round along with four other teams whose identities will be decided by qualifying events at the beginning of next year.

The full program of the tournament will be announced in January.

Aussies defeat Kiwis and claim to get men’s T20 crown

“With the unprecedented disruption of the last two years, bringing the ICC T20 World Cup for men to Australia for the first time provides a perfect opportunity for fans across the country to experience the joy of a live global sporting event again,” said Michelle Enright, the CEO of the tournament.

“The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2020 produced some incredible moments and created memories that will live on with Australian cricket fans forever. Now is the time for the men’s event to take a central stage and assert its own place in history.”

Tickets for the tournament go on sale in January, and fans can get priority access by signing up here.

2022 T20 World Cup

Date: October 16 to November 13

Host cities: Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney

Automatically qualified for Super 12s: Australia, New Zealand, England, India, Pakistan, South Africa, Afghanistan, Bangladesh

Automatically qualified for round 1: Sri Lanka, Caribbean, Scotland, Namibia, TBC, TBC, TBC, TBC